Coleman Wins Good Guy Award

Coleman Wins Good Guy Award

Carolina Panthers safety Kurt Coleman is the 2016 winner of the Tom Berry Good Guy Award, which annually honors the Panthers player who was most helpful to the media.

Coleman, in his second season in Charlotte, is among the most approachable players in the Panthers’ locker room. While some players designate a single day to meet with the media each week, Coleman is willing to talk thoughtfully on a variety of topics just about any day of the week.

The former Ohio State standout has enjoyed another good year on the field. Coleman’s four interceptions lead the Panthers, and his 11 picks over the past two seasons are more than any other NFC safety over that span.

The Good Guy award, presented by the Carolinas chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America, is named for a longtime columnist and Panthers beat writer for the High Point (N.C.) Enterprise who died at the start of the 2009 season.

Coleman joins a list of former winners that includes current teammates Mike Tolbert and Greg Olsen.


Tom Berry Good Guy Award Winners

2016 — Kurt Coleman

2015 — Josh Norman

2014 — Mike Tolbert

2013 — Greg Olsen

2012 — James Anderson

2011 — Captain Munnerlyn

2010 — Jordan Gross

2009 — Brad Hoover

Carolina Panthers

Comments are closed.